25 of my favorite Hip-Hop albums

April 23, 2007

This list is very hastily thrown together with very little editing but I think it’s a fair representation of the shit that causes me to really bug out. The order is not perfect but surprisingly not too suspect actually. If I didn’t have pressing matters concerning completing graduate school to attend to, I would spend more time on this. As it is I only did this because I couldn’t possibly miss being part of this. Thanks to Joey of Straight Bangin’ for the chance to be part of it. Killer shit below:

1 Biggie- Ready to Die
2. Jay-Z – Reasonable Doubt
3. UGK – Riding Dirty
4. Outkast- Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik
5. Scarface – The Fix
6. Kanye West- College Dropout
7. Eric B & Rakim- Paid in Full
8. Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill
9. Mos Def – Black on Both Sides
10. Nas- Illmatic
11. Jay-Z – Blueprint
12. Bone Thugs N’ Harmony – E. 99 Eternal
13. Wu Tang- 36 Chambers (Enter The Wu Tang)
14. Clipse – Lord Willin’
15. Snoop Doggy Dogg- Doggystyle
16. Common Sense – Like Water for Chocolate
17. Mos Def and Talib Kweli are Black Star
18. Eminem – Marshall Mathers LP
19. Public Enemy – It Takes a Nation of Millions
20. Ice Cube – The Predator
21. Notorious B.I.G. – Life After Death
22. Outkast – ATLiens
23. 2Pac – Me Against The World
24. Bubba Sparxxx – Deliverance
24. Mobb Deep- The Infamous
25. Prince Paul – A Prince among thieves

2 Responses to “25 of my favorite Hip-Hop albums”

  1. Kwis said

    Wow. I forgot Deliverance on my list. Your list is very different than mine, but I like it a lot. So much so, that I am going to seek out Ridin’ Dirty, which I don’t think I’ve ever heard all of.

  2. BM said

    Quality list, you got it bang on. Only a few different from my list, would swap – Bone Thugs for Raekwon – Cuban Lynx. Bubba for Beatnuts – Take it or Squeeze it, Kanye for MF Doom – Vaudeville Villain and ATliens for Ghostface – Supreme Clientele.

    Nice blog, I’ve added you to my B’Roll.
    Peace.

Leave a Reply

