Kill Tony Sinclair

January 26, 2007

For the record, I fucking hate this guy. I hate the character, I hate the ads and Tanqueray is still a pretty decent gin but I’m never fucking drinking it again if they don’t get rid of this ridiculous cartoon of a character they have shilling they their product. Who came up with this and actually thought it funny enough to be made into an entire series of ads. How the hell do you tie your product into something so plastic and ridiculous? I suppose I ought to offer incisive analysis as to why he sucks here, but the truth is he simply rubs me the wrong way. His jokes are unfunny, the upperclass British thing he’s trying to pimp doesn’t work and is too overplayed to be believable and he’s obviously not in on the joke, because Tanqueray wouldn’t be trying to sell their product with someone they want us to laugh at, so they sincerely wish us to connect in some manner with this character and be charmed by him, which makes me think the folks at Tanqueray must need some serious theraphy issues. Anyway, I leave you with a picture of this twit and the thought that while Tanqueray is a pretty decent gin, Bombay Sapphire is a much better one anyway. Drink it instead.

Chapter head for Douche Bags Anonymous

Leave a Reply

